## San Jacinto College District Board Meeting Minutes

## **November 7, 2016**

The Board of Trustees of the San Jacinto Community College District met at 7:00 p.m., Monday, November 7, 2016, in Room 104 of the Thomas S. Sewell District Administration Building, 4624 Fairmont Parkway, Pasadena, Texas, for the Regular Board Meeting.

**Board of** Marie Flickinger **Trustees:** Brad Hance

Dan Mims, Chair

John Moon, Jr., Secretary

Keith Sinor, Assistant Secretary

Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson, Vice Chair

**Chancellor:** Brenda Hellyer

Others Present: Araceli C. Abrego Princess Clemons Elise González

Savio Adams Adam Coleman Gabby Guerrero Juan David Agredo Valentin J. Coronado Gissel Guzman Elena Hadzhieva Kacie Allen Bruce Crabtree Luis Almeida Allatia Harris Lisa Crabtree Mario Andrade Pablo Cruz Mike Harris Oscar Aragon Danielle Damian Joseph Hebert Jose Arrieta Jessica Davenport Rosie Helms

Amy Austin Jose Degollado Meike Hikaruhito Amy Axtell Swetanshi Desai Bo Hopper

Jasmin James

Antone Jarvis

Megan Jeanes

Robert Jeter, Jr.

Robert Jeter III

Mark Johnson

Darrell Ketchum

Sallie Kay Janes

Amy Axtell Markayla Dickie Lori Barbay Dean Barnes Shelbi Doherty Inès Bawedin Jose Duarte Rhonda Bell Chris Duke Carlos Blasco Aishah Elhommoud Addie Bryant Amanda Fenwick Roberto Flores Alexis Bryant Megan Riley Bullen John Wayne Gasper III Margarita Buvinic Tammy Gernander Bruce Caldwell Marc Gernander

Megan Riley Bullen John Wayne Gasper III Bonny Johnson Margarita Buvinic Tammy Gernander Alexus Jones Bruce Caldwell Marc Gernander Jerusha Kasch Jorge Callejas Scott Gernander Ruth Keenan Pamela S. Campbell Danny Gertson Tami Kelly Michelle Cantu-Wilson Ariona Gill Tacera Kelley Rocio Castaneda George González Katlin Kerl

Niki González

Jonathan Chapa

Dana Kostecka Kenzie Kotrla Debbie Lambert Vi Le

Heiko Leinweber David LeMaster Chet Lewis Michael J. Madrid

Moerani Maire Perry Mayorga-Guerrero Taylor McHenry

Tracy Meek
Walter Meek
Kenley Miller
Madison Miller
Danel Monroe
Alyssa Moore
Jasmine Morrow
Brianna Moten
Carie Mueller
Lorenzo Najera

Stella Ochoa Yvette Orozco Kaylee Ousman Bruno Pagani Satyam Patel Jeff Pearce Nelly Pereira

Madison Neal

Sharon Nelson

Raven Oates Abigail Ochoa

Amanda Perkins Troy Rabon Bill Raffetto Victoria Ramirez

Byanca Pereira

Yoselin Perez

Ricardo Ramos Isis Rangel Juel Rayburn Mandi Reiland Arabella Remy Madison Rhoder Rigas Rigopoulos Shelley Rinehart

Katlyn Rivera Jean C. Rivera Nakilah Robinson Ivan Rosales

Kelly Saenz Brandon Salazar Devera Scheller Savannah Sheridan

Eryka Sidney **David Sifuentes** Shawn Silman **Kelly Simons** Debbie Smith **Danny Snooks** Rob Stanicic John Stauffer Tori Stoddard Janice Sullivan Clarisa Talley Nakia Taylor **Kayden Thomas Adam Thomas** Kayla Thomas Jaylee Thomas Mir Tillman Steve Trncak

Diego Vazquez Randy Wallace Kelsey Walters Kyneil Walwyn Johnny Watson Kayla Weaver Hannah Westerlage

Paul Tyson

Mark Westerlage
Alicia Westerlage
Chatara Williams
Qeturah Williams

Laurel Williamson Brock Wilson Dennis Winkler Luis Zepeda Call the Meeting to order:

Chair Dan Mims called the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call of Board Members:

Marie Flickinger Brad Hance John Moon, Jr. Keith Sinor Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson

Invocation and Pledges to the Flags:

The invocation was given by Laurel Williamson. The pledges to the American flag and the Texas flag were led by George González.

Special Announcements, Recognitions, and Presentations: There were no special announcements, recognitions, or introductions.

Student Success Presentations:

1. Chris Duke presented an update on the SACSCOC self-study process.

Communications to the Board:

- 1. A thank you card was sent to the Board from Rick Gonzalez, for the plant sent in memory of his brother.
- 2. A thank you card was sent to the Board from Sallie Kay Janes, for the plant sent in memory of her mother.
- 3. A thank you card was sent to the Board from the family of Prudencio Ramirez.

Hearing of Such Citizens or Groups of Citizens Desiring to be Heard Before the Board:

There following citizens desiring to be heard before the Board spoke for five minutes each.

- 1. Scott Gernander
- 2. Juel Rayburn
- 3. Inès Bawedin
- 4. Sharon D. Nelson
- 5. Tracy Meek
- 6. Nakilah Robinson

Dan Mims thanked each of the citizens for their comments and explained the Board had spent considerable time evaluating and reviewing information regarding athletic programs.

Informative Reports:

Dan Mims indicated such reports were in the board documents.

**Motion 9748 Consideration of** Approval of **Amendment to** the 2016-2017

Motion was made by John Moon, Jr., seconded by Keith Sinor, for Approval of Amendment to the 2016-2017 Budget for Restricted Revenue and Expenses Relating to Federal and State Grants.

**Budget for** Restricted

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Revenue and

Navs: None

**Motion Carried.** 

**Expenses Relating** to Federal and **State Grants** 

**Motion 9749 Consideration of** Approval of **Sheldon Early** 

Motion was made by Larry Wilson, seconded by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, for Approval of Sheldon Early College High School Memorandum of Understanding.

**College High** School

**Motion Carried.** 

Memorandum of **Understanding** 

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Nays: None

**Motion 9750 Consideration of** Approval of **Closure of Four** 

Motion was made by Keith Sinor, seconded by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, for Consideration of Approval of Closure of Four Athletic Programs in

NJCAA Division 1 Sports: Men's Basketball, Women's Basketball, Men's

**Athletic** 

Soccer, and Women's Volleyball, Effective May 31, 2018.

**Programs in NJCAA Division** 1 Sports: Men's

Marie Flickinger made comments before the vote was taken regarding the public comments and the difficulty of evaluating the options.

Basketball, Women's

**Motion Carried.** 

Basketball, Men's Soccer, and

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Mims, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Navs: None

Women's Volleyball,

Effective May 31, Brenda Hellyer made comments after the vote was taken regarding the difficulty of the decision and the commitment over the next 19 months as the programs are discontinued.

**Motion 9751 Consideration of Purchasing** 

Motion was made by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, seconded by Larry Wilson, for approval of the purchasing requests.

**Requests** 

2018

RFP 16-25 **Temporary Personnel Services** 

\$

RFQ 16-10

**Construction Technical Services Pool** 500,000

Purchase Request #1 -

Commissioning Services for Central Campus
Petrochemical, Energy and Technology Building
66,000

Purchase Request #2 -

Welding Trainers 96,172

Purchase Request #3

Amend AECOM Contract for the 2015 Bond Program

Purchase Request #4 -

Data Equipment <u>60,000</u>

TOTAL OF PURCHASE REQUESTS \$722,172

**Motion Carried.** 

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Nays: None

Motion 9752 Motion was made by Larry Wilson, seconded by John Moon, Jr., to

**Consent Agenda** approve the consent agenda.

**Motion Carried.** 

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Nays: None

**Adjournment:** Meeting Adjourned at 7:52 p.m.